Hasta Pronto, SF. I love you

sf

The past four years have been some of the most transformative, beautiful, deep, healing and powerful years of my life.
Daniel and I came to San Francisco as newlyweds, ready to begin a new adventure. I knew nobody in SF, I had no plans, no classes, nobody waiting to meet me at a certain time in a certain place. This was both exciting and scary. It was like having a white canvas and the possibility of recreating myself from scratch.
San Francisco has been exactly that for me, an open space to look at myself from new perspectives,  and let go of preconceived ideas of who I thought I was and should be.  Having been away from my dear family has allowed me to see my introversion face to face and come out of my comfort zone, meet and really connect with new people, make friends in a deeper level, and let go of judgements along the way.
I learned to face my fear of public speaking and writing, of teaching yoga in English, of driving on freeways, of looking for opportunities to volunteer when I wasn’t allowed to work, of taking trains and buses everywhere, of asking for help.
Three years later our baby arrived and opened a whole new life for us. I realized the imperative need of building a village with other families and friends. My relationship to friends and to San Francisco deepened and was reinforced.

IMG_3394

Now life continues to surprise us, with new plans for our family.

Daniel has a wonderful new job offer, and in a couple months we’ll move to Mexico to begin a new chapter in our lives. Transitions like this are a combination of bittersweetness. The sadness of leaving behind amazing friends, extraordinary teachers, students that have touched my heart, my dear  Golden Gate Park and Golden Gate Bridge, the joy of biking and walking everywhere, the simplicity of living in a one room apartment, the breathtaking Nature of the Bay Area.

We leave this city with our hearts full and grateful.

Past the tears of sadness, we know it’s not a good bye, it’s an Hasta Pronto, dear SF.

Wherever we are in the world, we will always carry you in our hearts.

let go

2 thoughts on “Hasta Pronto, SF. I love you

Leave a Reply

